An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online.

The number of people buying products online is rising. The advantages of this practice among both companies and customers can be obviously found, specifically in a large busy city. Meanwhile, some companies and customers think it causes a negative impact on themselves too. In my essay, these two views will be discussed. On one hand, shopping online is considered to be an effective and convenient way for people to manage their time while they are living busy lives. For example, my university friend’s father is a doctor and he always finishes his work after the closing time of a supermarket so he decided to buy products he needs in daily life, such as shampoo, instant food online. For companies, selling products online can help them develop their product since they can access the need of customers by considering their reviews on the product. Currently, a number of official brand websites provide a comment or review box under the product details so that customers who bought the product can share their opinion on it. Through looking at comments from customers, companies can easily improve their product quality, thus increase customer needs for their product. On the other hand, buying good online is likely to be risky for individuals because they cannot know the condition of the good while it is being shipped. To illustrate, when I read comments written by buyers on the shopping online website, I saw many comments complaining that the product was in a poor condition because it was not rapped properly. Meanwhile, companies may face difficulty selling their good to people who do not primarily use the Internet. For example, companies selling energy drinks, whose targeted customer is people working for building construction, might lose their profit if they sell their product online rather than in convenience stores.