Although modern life has brought with it improvements in people's standard of living, people are not generally happy with their lives.

Many divergent views exist on how best to live happy in modern life. A great number of people, including myself, are of the opinion that people are usually not happy with their life in recent times. In the following paragraphs, I will provide the rationale for my viewpoint on the matter. The primary reason for the unhappiness of modern citizens is that they need to work harder in order to pay ongoing bills. It goes without saying that nowadays, day to day needs such as electricity bills, accommodation, cost of fuel for these people's family members have been increased drastically. As a result, all the members of the family are required to work to cope with those expenses. My university classmate, Ben, is a shining example of this. He hardly has time to meet with his parents as he and his mom and dad are working down to dusk to earn money for their ongoing accommodation costs in the downtown area. As this example illustrates, people are required to work harder to fulfil the requirement in today's costly lifestyle which makes them unhappy. Not only do people required to work hard, but they also suffer from many mental and physical illnesses in their life. It stands to the reason that, advancement in the food industry, and the hectic life of these individuals, force them to eat outside food which contains a higher amount of fat. Thus, they suffer from many health-related diseases which affects their body. I am not alone in this view, and there is plenty of empirical work to support my viewpoint. A 2007 study, for example, conducted by a team of researchers at the University of Toronto found that 90% of working professional in the USA alone are suffering from excessive amounts of stress and obesity due to the consumption of fast food. To sum up, I hold to the opinion that because of the unhealthy lifestyle of modern citizens and busy schedules make their life unfavourable for them. It is my sincere wish that these people should eat healthy food and spend time together more often.