(altered) In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

It is believed that high school curriculum should consist of volunteering work and pupils also ought to do it free of charge. Personally, I completely agree with this view through the following reasons. There are various benefits that students could gain from working in community services. First, by doing voluntary work, they can learn how to interact with others and work in a team. Moreover, they also know how to manage their time effectively and improve their organization skills. For instance, youngsters can participate in several voluntary projects with some quite comfortably specific tasks such as knit or crochet blankets to be donated to the orphanage or homeless shelters, put few cheerful performances for handicapped children in hospitals, share with residents in a nursery home, join in the cleanup of a local river, pond, lake, and so forth. Even those are small works, young people still largely broaden their horizons by communicating with new people in new places and also strength their compassion for others. By boosting teenagers' necessary work activities with charities or community organisations, they will be likely to do something more creative and efficient. In particular, groups of volunteers would come up with numerously valuable activities. More specifically, they can create a summer reading program to encourage kids to read more, design events to promote some introverted students make friends or be more energetic and integrate with the community, organise a self-defence workshop or collect unused makeup to donate to a centre of abused women, conceive a TV or radio public service announcement against drug and alcohol use, etc. It is beneficial for someone whose skills gained through compulsory work to increase their employability by setting it in their CV. This is simply due to the fact that the recruiters not only select eligible staffs for their businesses or organisations but also helpful for the society. To sum up, I strongly believe that it is an immensely brilliant idea and I hope that this programme put into action for high schools in a near future.