Altered IELTS In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

For generations in many countries young adults have been encouraged to take a gap year after high school. Below merits and drawbacks of the prospect will be discussed in details. On the one hand, there are several benefits of the tradition. Firstly, studying at high school and preparation for the final exams is challenging and difficult. In fact, many students are so exhausted that they may have a nervous breakdown. Many psychologists suggest having a journey as a proper medicine to the problem. Thus, those who decide to spend a year on travelling will surely get rested and revitalized by the new experience. Secondly, some young individuals do not have needed financial resources to pay for studying at university. One year gap gives them a possibility to earn and save up some money. In fact, a person who has been working intensively for twelve months in a row may make enough money to start tertiary education. Those are several benefits that are acquired via having a year gap. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages as well. For example, a person who became financially independent will probably detest the idea of giving it up for studying. Statistics shows that the majority of those who began working after school have never pursued a degree and a likely reason to this is that living on your own, being free from parents’ rules is an awesome experience. Secondly, having the long one-year vocation may have a negative impact on students’ academic records. For instance, young adults who did not take a gap year are more likely to graduate from university than those who took it. It seems that to study successfully a person should be able to recall a lot of information from a school program and the data is well-remembered by those who went from school to university directly and forgotten by those who had a long vacation. Those are a few negative facets of the custom. In conclusion, the custom of having a year vocation between school and university has some drawbacks and merits and each person has a right to decide what is better for him or her.