Altered IELTS In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Although cases of serious crimes are decreasing in many parts of the world, people feel less safe today than at any other time in the past. The main reason for this is the increased coverage of crime in our media and one key solution is encouraging news outlets to cover more positive stories. Crime-related news more frequently features in our media than positive stories and the public, therefore, believe there to be a more criminal crime than there actually is. Violation stories are considered to be more dramatic and capable of gaining more readers and viewers than stories of another nature. As a result, the vast majority of the news focuses on serious crimes and this is causing people to feel unsafe. For example, the British Office for National Statistics recently reported that although the number of murder cases had decreased in the UK by 20% in the last 20 years, the media’s coverage of these murders had increased by 700%. To combat this disproportionate production of crime stories, media outlets should be encouraged to also cover positive stories. By presenting an accurate picture of society that includes good news as well as bad, journalists can reduce the anxiety that causes viewers to feel unsafe. For instance, one news website, the Good News Network, has aimed to accurately show what is happening in society by sharing good news stories from the late 1990s and it has been reported that their visitors are 16% less concerned with the violence rates in the respective countries. In conclusion, people feel less safe today in spite of reducing crime levels as a result of negative media reports that focuses on crime reporting. To remedy this problem, journalists should be encouraged to share more positive stories to present a realistic picture of society.