All parents wants the best opportunities for their children. There are some people who think that schools should teach children skills but others think having a range of subjects is better for a children's future. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Education encompasses theoretical and practical components. While some adults believe that educational institutions should include different theoretical subjects in their curricula, others state that students should learn practical skills. This essay will discuss why children benefit from having different subjects at school but why learning skills is more advantageous for their future. Most educational institutions offer general programs composed of different theoretical subjects. Having exposure to information from different areas helps students find what their personal interests are. In fact, the majority of learners choose a university program on the basis of the subjects that are enjoyed in high school or in secondary school. Having different classes at school often helps students choose a future career path. Nevertheless, given that the majority of the courses taken by the pupils are theoretical, these learners seldom experience the reality of the workplace. If pupils learn skills at school from an early age, they will obtain practical knowledge that could be applied to their first jobs, while working in a trade or even help them become self-employed in the future. For example, if students learn how to bake in high school, they could work at a bakery while paying for their university studies. They could also decide to become bakers or even become entrepreneurs and start their own businesses. Acquiring practical abilities enhances the knowledge of students. Although most educational institutions teach knowledge of different subject areas, students would benefit from practical skills. This essay discussed why theoretical curricula benefits students but why acquiring practical skills is more beneficial. In my opinion, practical skills broaden children´s job prospects from an early age.