Some people say that health care and education should be the responsibility of the government but others think that it is the responsibility of the individuals themselves.

Personal and public well-being is tightly related to nourishment choices. While some people believe that the government should regulate nutrition to improve public wellness, others argue that it should be the people’s decision whether to pursue a healthy diet or not. This essay will discuss both points of view and explain why the authorities should not restrict the types of food people can buy. Legislators could impose laws concerning nutrition subsistence and education in an effort to have a healthier and high-level population, therefore, decreasing public health costs. Even if this could be considered a good idea, it would be very quite difficult to implement. To achieve this target, the rulers could impose a levy on unhealthy sustenance options, and tuition waivers for education programs based on budget surpluses from taxation. In Italy, for example, products such as carbonated sugary drinks and chips are heavily taxed. As a result, the sales of these items have decreased. As a matter of fact, if the authorities start to take control of what their citizens can or cannot eat, it may be seen as a limitation of privilege Since personal freedom is an extremely important human right, many people think that they should be responsible for their choices regarding the food and drinks they decide to consume. I agree with this opinion because limiting nutritional options, even if it is done with the best outcome in mind, could consequently create dissatisfaction among the population, which would possibly lead to other public issues such as protests and demonstrations. As a matter of fact, if the authorities start to take control of what their citizens can or cannot eat, it may be seen as a limitation of freedom In conclusion, even though the government is able to control the dietary habits of its population through taxation and restrictions, healthier citizens and reduced public health expenses isn’t the only possible outcome. Limiting personal freedom could result in social unrest and for that reason diet decisions are better to be left up to well-informed individuals.