All parents want the best opportunities for their children. There are some people who think schools should teach children skills but others think having a range of subjects is better for the children’s future.

It is a proven fact that parents generally want the best future for their children. When it comes to education, parents have conflicting views about what schooling model should be. Some would prefer the educational model to be more vocational, while others want a more subject centric curriculum. This essay will discuss both views, but also explain why both educational concepts go hand in hand. There is a very significant portion of parents that want their child's education to be centred on skill acquisition. It is a matter of fact that the main proponent of this school of thought points to the fact the main goal of all learning institutions is to pass on the necessary ability to their student in their chosen field. For example the objective of studying every hard subject in civil engineering is to obtain the know how to be relevant in the construction sector. Therefore all the voluminous books studied is with this objective. However, some parents offered a dissenting opinion on this matter. In their own view, the educational curriculum should put more emphasis on the theoretical aspect of learning. This idea is not without its merit, in fact, they buttress their points by pointing out the importance of learning the scientific framework behind every skill is also pertinent to their child's educational success. This reason is why doctors do not pick up the surgical blade on the first day in medical school, but undergo a systematic process that provide them with an appropriate scientific rationale for each action taken and the precautions involved with the learnt ability. In conclusion, the essay discusses the main argument of the advocates of each school of thought. although, in my opinion, I do think both educational models are mutually inclusive, but a perfect balance should be struck between practical and theory in schools.