All over the world, the rich are becoming richer and the poor are becoming poorer. What problems does this cause? How can we overcome the problems of poverty?

The latest statistics show that the rich are increasing their wealth while the poor are becoming more numerous and more desperate. This causes manifold problems for individuals and society as a whole and, although the solutions may seem straightforward, they are not easy to implement. An imbalance in the spread of wealth in society results in a crippling cycle of poverty for many residents. The problems are diverse but interrelated. Crime is a major effect of poverty, especially violent crime and property-related crime. Alcohol and substance abuse, although self-destructive, are seen as ways of coping with poverty. Some poor people are forced to take jobs with unsafe or hazardous working conditions. In some cases, children must work to help support the family. In addition, inferior housing and living conditions for the impoverished are common causes of ill-health and disease; waterborne and food-related diseases are rife amongst the destitute. The effect of poverty on society is destabilising. It is the chief cause of social tension leading to riots and conflict, occasionally resulting in governments being brought down, as happened in the so-called Arab Spring. Children brought up in poverty develop antisocial and aggressive behaviour. There have been high-profile court cases in my country where underprivileged young teenagers have been found guilty of murder because they have killed someone in the course of an armed robbery. The solutions to poverty are simple but challenging. Governments could impose more taxes on the affluent. Unfortunately, it is often the moneyed sector that keeps the government in power and corrupt officials are amongst the prosperous. There should be absolute transparency in government spending and governments must give priority to projects to help the poor. Above all, they should have access to education, training and employment programmes, a living wage, decent housing, sanitation and health care. Breaking the poverty cycle and redressing the imbalance of wealth and resources with good governance will take time, but it will eventually eliminate some of the problems of crime, violence, sickness and addiction that plague the underclass