All over the world, societies are facing a growing problem with obesity. This problem affects both children and adults. What are the reasons for this rise in obesity, How could it be tackled?

Nations worldwide are dealing with the increasing issue of obesity, which is a cause for concern among all age groups. One main cause of this issue is the over-consumption of fast food and convenience foods. A possible solution would be a government tax on these foods with lower costs for fresh produce. One reason that people are becoming overweight these days is that they are eating more junk food and convenience food rather than cooking healthy meals at home. This is because many people tend to lead a busy life so it is easier to just buy ready meals or get a take away rather than cook at home. For instance, a 2015 Report by the UK government found that sales of these types of foods have risen considerably in the past 20 years. If the issue is not addressed soon there will most likely be an epidemic of obesity-related illnesses such as diabetes in the near future. To tackle this issue governments need to increase the tax on high sugar or unhealthy foods, especially those that contain trans fats. This would mean that consumers would think twice about the food they consume, so in the long run, this could lead to them losing weight and leading a much healthier life. To illustrate this, in 2014 Norway implemented tough regulations and higher taxes on food containing high levels of sodium and saturated fats. They also xed a lower price for organic vegetables to attract more consumers of fresh produce in supermarkets. This had a dramatic eect on reducing the consumption of junk foods.