All over the world, societies are facing a growing problem with obesity. This problem affects both children and adults. What are the reasons for the rise in obesity? . How could it be tackled?

In recent times, there has been a significant increase in the number of obese population both among the young and old globally. This has continually become a major challenge for most nations. This essay would highlight the main causes of this increasing trend and also profer solutions to curb this problem. One of the major factors that has caused the rise in the number of obese people is increased consumption of junk foods. Majority of people nowadays fail to eat balanced and healthy meals rather they consume snacks and fatty meals which are notoriously known to be high calorie foods. Also, there have been a tremendous increase in the number of fastfood outlets where these junk meals are been sold. This would encourage more people eating meals which are fattening and are unhealthy. For example, the number of people that are obese in the USA have tripled over the last decade and was attributed to the rise in the number of restaurants where pizza, burger and other pastries are being served. In order to reduce the growing trend in obesity, people should be educated on the health implications and problems associated with obesity such as stroke, Diabetes mellitus and cardiovascular diseases. Such awareness can be created via social media, newspapers and television. Secondly, the government should close down some of the fastfood outlets and also put up policies such as heavy taxation that would discourage anybody that might be entertaining any thought of opening them in the future. In conclusion, obesity has remained a menace in many societies. Consumption of unhealthy meals as well as increase in the number of places where these junk foods are sold are some of the identified causes of increase in the number of children and adults with obesity. It is imperative for the government and the general public to do their best to put a stop to this.