All over the world, societies are facing a growing problem with obesity. This problem affects both children and adults. What are the reasons for this rise in obesity? How could it be tackled?

Obesity is a pressing issue that many countries are experiencing. The ubiquitous presence of fast-food chain restaurants, serving high-calorie meals loaded with fats and sodium, and neglecting to cook wholesome meals at home are among the underlying causes, but there are possible ways of curbing this unhealthy trend. One of the leading causes of the high obesity rate is the high intake of junk food, such as hamburgers, chips, or fried chicken. Many people prefer takeaway meals containing a high content of salt and fat rather than healthy meals at home because of their convenience. For instance, in the UK, the sales of junk food have increased over the last few years because it is simple and easy to place online orders. Another cause of obesity is attributed to people’s sedentary lifestyle. Instead of playing outdoor sports, people would prefer to watch their favorite movies on TV or to play video games on the Internet while munching chips. This often results in the empty calories being transformed into fat. There are a couple of tactics that the government could use to promote healthy habits. One tactic is for the government to put a tax on unhealthy food. This would encourage consumers to abstain from junk food and start preparing food at home. The compounding costs of tax on top of the food itself would make people turn to alternatives, such as home-cooked food. Another tactic is the government should ban the advertising of unhealthy food on the mass media, such as TV and the Internet. As children have not fully developed their rational judgments, they could not resist the urge to buy these products when stumbling upon the appealing images of them. In conclusion, I am convinced that the issue of obesity is attributed to a sedentary life and the convenience of buying fast food, and hopefully, some tactics, such as a tax and prohibition on advertising fast food, would lead people to embrace healthy lifestyles.