In recent years, there has been a rise in the popularity of second-hand clothing amongst younger generations. Why is this happening? Do you think it’s a positive or negative development?

Youngsters preferring second-hand clothing in modern times is gaining popularity in modern times. The primary cause of this preference is social behaviour for the need to wear a variety of clothes. In my opinion, it is a positive development as it enables the reuse of products and contributes to lesser wastages. As the teenagers have psychological behaviour of updating their social media handles about their lifestyle, they tend to click more pictures to gain an edge for themselves over their acquaintances. This has created a demand for many different set of clothes that one possesses. In order to compensate for the financial burden, on their pocket money budgets, youngsters prefer second-hand clothing by purchasing it from shops or reusing clothes of their relatives or friends over purchasing new ones. A research conducted by oxfords research centre published its survey reports confirming the statistics to be 80% when it comes to the variety of clothing that a teen demands in the wardrobe. The need for having a variety of cloth although is not a positive development, use of second-hand clothing to meet that demand is a positive development. This is so as it reduces the average spends that one make coupled with avoidable wastages that are dumped in the environment. It is an effective medium for recycling the products and thus contributing to the conservation of natural resources. A recent study of the Environmental Health department of India states that the impact of reusing clothes has contributed to better environmental conditions as compared to past statistics. To conclude, the recent popularity of reusing clothes among youngsters are due to their psychological social behavior and result in a positive development as it enables reusing of products contributing to better environmental health due. Regards Rupali Patel