“All education and healthcare should be funded by the government and free for everyone. ”

Education and healthcare are essential to everyday life, development and growth. This statement has been discussed by many, with many opinions arising from articles across the internet. In my opinion, it is quite disappointing that in most developed countries, these are not free of charge. I agree with this statement to a large extent as these two words are often thought of as something very basic and accessible to all, yet not without price. Firstly, education should not be defined by what social class you are in, but how hard you have worked throughout your study life to get into your chosen field. For example, someone from a lower class background may be motivated to do better than one from a higher class background, as having been brought up in less fortunate conditions may have inspired them to pursue education to its fullest extent. This would not be possible if the lower class lacked the monetary situation to attend a University or College of their choice, to achieve a degree in the area they wish to further work in. Secondly, Article 26 of the United Nations Declaration of Human Rights enshrines the right to education for all, stating ‘Everyone has the right to education’. This clause has been ignored by many low-income countries, but has been adhered to by mostly all of the developed countries in Europe, and the United States. Despite this historic agreement, lots of the countries discussed have fallen short of providing higher education free of charge, and so limiting residents of the country to just a primary certificate of education. Healthcare, similar to education, is a basic need for living. Healthcare is often regarded as a fundamental service to all, however as before, not without paying. I strongly believe everyone should at the very least have the basic necessities to continue living, including healthcare. The governments of many countries have the money to make healthcare free for all, yet simply choose not to. I think this is very unfair to people in the lower, and middle classes. They could not afford the price of an operation, or medicine, and be forced to fight through the illness, whilst people in the higher class buy the medicine and are free from the illness. In conclusion, after the points raised, I agree with the statement to a large extent, as healthcare and education have become basic needs of today’s society, and I expect them to be free nowadays. Regardless of social class; everyone has the right to a free, extensive education and healthcare.