In many countries nowadays, more and more women have full-time jobs as men, so there is logic that men and women should share the housework task equally.

In days of yore, household chores were considered to be women’s duty, so people took it for granted that women had to do all the housework without any assistance from other members, particularly their husbands. However, with a surge of full-time women in the workforce / with a growth of women working full-time / with an increase of female full-time employment, some people, especially feminists, start to problematize and challenge this gender-biased concept, suggesting that men and women should equally share household chores. As far as I am concerned, I strongly agree with / concur with this egalitarian belief to a large extent for two reasons. To begin with, it is unfair to impose the burden of all housework on women as their roles in modern society have changed tremendously over the years. No longer are women confined to the traditional role of doing all maid-like drudgery at home. Since it is difficult for a single wage-earner to support (= provide for) a family, the majority of women today have sought full-time jobs to supplement their household income. Just like their fathers or husbands, women devote most of their time to their work during the daytime and suffer from considerably higher levels of work-related stress and anxiety; therefore, they deserve proper rest after a day’s hard work as men do. Nevertheless, if these career women are heavily burdened with the housework tasks after work, they might be overwhelmed with fatigue and stress, eventually compromising their physical and mental health. In addition, splitting household duties evenly can successfully create a gender-equal environment with a strong emphasis on mutual support and respect. For example, if parents share housework responsibilities, they are able to convey two important messages to their children. First, women or mothers are not synonymous with housework. It is incumbent upon each family member to do the household chores with no one being exempt from this family duty. Second, sharing housework tasks is a way to show our love and care to our beloved family. By helping his wife do the dishes, a husband can let her know how much he loves her. Similarly, a boy can show his care to his mother or sister by helping them do the laundry. Since sharing housework can help build a healthy marital relationship and strengthen the bonding among family members, it is justifiable to argue that men and women should share housework equally. In conclusion, gone are the days when housework is put on women’s shoulders. Nowadays, each member of the family should take part in doing housework. Equal division of household chores not only reduces the burden for women but also helps promote gender equality. Hence, it is reasonable for both genders to share housework.