All children should learn to speak a foreign language as soon as they start school. How far do you agree with this proposal? how important is it for a child to learn a foreign language?

Learning languages are becoming part and parcel of the everyday life; however, many people think that this should be started at the initial stages of schooling. In my opinion, I consider this education would bring more benefits to children. Children of present generation require to learn at least one international language which is extremely important because of the spread globalisation in the various aspects of the life. In other words, those who are multi- linguistic can have better future prospects than one who knows only mother tongue. Due to globalization, even, workers of regional companies may need to communicate with international customers, for which this language study would be useful. By contrast, lack of knowledge of a foreign language may prevent youngsters from securing well paid jobs in reputed companies. The proposal of teaching young children an international language is beneficial; therefore, I strongly support this statement. Firstly, children's brain is receptive in nature, which means it is the best time to teach languages compared to older children. As these children's language ability do not developed in the advance level, they may not be influenced by mother tongue when they start learning a new language. A recent research, for instance, has shown that, small children have better linguistic abilities than older children. Having taught languages at the beginning stage of the schooling, these students become more employable than others. By way of conclusion, learning how to speak a foreign language is essential for the current generation to meet their future requirements, so I again reaffirm that, I strongly support the proposed initiatives as this has many long term positives to the children's life.