Advertising can influence the way people think, so it has negative effects.

Nowadays, we are bombarded with advertisements on TV or billboards. Some argue that people can be negatively influenced due to that fact that these ads have changed our minds. In my opinion, I tend to agree with this idea. On the one hand, I hold the view that ads contributes positively to people. Ads tell customers about their products, providing a wide range of choice for them than before. Customers are aware that they can make a comparison between commodities in terms of the price and the quality. For example, residents are able to select the most suitable household appliance from ads. Apart from this, there are a large number of public service ads on TVs or on the internet that encourage the public to form a healthy lifestyle. The primary reason is that numerous people live a sedentary life and eat much junk food. Such kind of ads usually raise people’s awareness of the importance of a healthy life. Consequently, people gradually tend to do more outdoor activities and eat more fruits and vegetables. On the other hand, ads, to some extent, manipulates people’s thoughts. Advertisers often focus on selling a brand image by using glamorous and successful stars. Consumers are persuaded to associate certain luxury brands, such as Armani and Mercedes, with a higher social status. In this situation, people are likely to purchase these items that they don not really need on impulse, thus forming a materialist social atmosphere. In conclusion, although the tempting ads that have an adverse impact on people cannot be avoided, I still believe that the general public have profited more since ads appeared.