These days, scientists can tell whether a child will become a criminal or not by examining the child at the age of three. Do you agree that crime is a product of human nature? Do you think we can stop children from becoming criminals?

Technologies like brain-mapping and psychoanalysis have enabled scientists to predict accurately whether a child will grow up to be a miscreant in the society or not. Such discoveries have sparked a debate whether crime is an aspect of human nature and I am totally against this belief. In my opinion, children can be described as blank canvases, upon which, society creates a vivid portrait that affects them deeply. To illustrate this, a social experiment was conducted recently, where two subjects, from an early age, are brought up in two contrasting conditions. Whereas, one subject is exposed to harsh conditions and poor parenting, the other subject is nurtured in a caring family. It is noted that, as both the subjects grow up, there is a tendency of violence in the first subject. Hence, it can safely be said that the upbringing of a child has a higher influence on its behaviour than human nature. Coming to the next question, crime can be prevented if we start nurturing children in good environments right from their infant stages. For example, some countries also have organisations that regularly check up on families to assess whether the children are being brought up in a healthy environment. Furthermore, education should be made compulsory for all children in order to eradicate criminal tendencies from a very young age. To conclude, addressing crime as a human nature does not solve the issue of criminal activities. It is up to us, as human beings and torchbearers, to find ways in order to remove criminal tendencies amongst growing children by providing them with nourishment, both physically and mentally.