Advertisements bring many negative effects on people and the society. What are these effects? How to solve this problem?

It is true that advertising is deemed to be a key part of modern business, and it is a form of state-of-the-art promotion campaign in every commercial company. Although advertisements can give rise to some adverse effects on both individuals and the society; however, I hold a conviction that the society can take steps to mitigate these potential problems. There are some negative effects that advertisements give rise to customers. Firstly, commercials may arouse customers desire to purchase merchandises regardless of whether they actually need them or not. To be precise, some commercial break with catchy jingles or snappy slogans make people intrigued and feel inadequate if they do not have this product. For example, children are often the target market because they are particularly susceptible to these kinds of risk. As a result, this put pressure on parents to buy them things. Moreover, too many advertisements cause confusion on their own decisions. In many cases, advertising companies manipulate people by overstating or even misrepresent their products. Gradually, they feel deeply cynical and skeptical about every product in the market, resulting misconception about good products. There are several actions that the government could take to solve the problems described above. Firstly, the administration should impose stringent laws on advertisements broadcasted on the TV or social media. For example, unhealthy foods or cigarettes, which are detrimental to the society in general and viewers in particular, can be censored or even banned. In addition, social organizations should provide free lessons about basic life skills, including buying skills can raise public perception of advertising industry so that the locals can more sensible and become wise customers. By doing this, customers can deter themselves from squandering on bad commodities. In conclusion, various measures can be taken to tackle the problems arising from the advertising industry.