Actor-observerPeople account for their own behavior differently from how they account for the behaviorof others. When observing the behavior of others, we tend to attribute theiractions to their character or their personality rather than to external facto

Since its invention, the internet has brought so many good things; however, some people say that it has negative effects on teenagers, especially in the areas of communication. This essay will argue some of the reasons why cyberspace is seen to be harmful in this way and give possible solutions. There is a great decline in the social skills of adolescents and young adults in recent years. One of the major reasons for this is the easy access to the web, especially in the developed world. Before now, the use of computers and mobile phones was only possible for adults who use them for running their business, but currently, they are at the reach of everyone. As a result, many teenagers get involved in many activities online, such as games and pornography, and the excessive use of these gadgets makes them to be more isolated from friends and even family members. Furthermore, peer influences are magnified on social media sites such as Facebook and Instgram. This might cause teenagers to develop unrealistic expectations, thereby leading to jealousy and self-doubting, which if not controlled could aggravate to depression. In order to solve these problems, parents should make out time to monitor their growing children to know what they do at all times. For example, when I was growing up, my mother made a timetable for my daily routine, and I only watched television and used computer two hours per day. The society could also help by organising some social and game clubs, and encourage adolescents to join. Consequently, these activities would enable them to have physical interactions with others and make new friends. Finally, the government could get involved by bringing up competitions for teens with good prizes for the winners. These competitions could range from academic quizzes to games. In conclusion, internet affects the social skills of young adults and youngsters by causing withdrawal and unrealistic expectations, therefore, parents and government have important roles to play in offering solutions.