According to most projections, the world’s population will continue to rise, until it plateaus at 9 to 11 billion in the latter part of the 21st century. Without a doubt, population growth represents the largest problem facing humanity at present. Do you agree that this is the greatest issue faced by us today?

The world’s population has been increasing rapidly over the years. Some people believe that at present population growth is the largest problem faced by humanity. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and provide evidence as to why this is the greatest issue faced by us today. Population growth has contributed to the spread of diseases in densely populated areas. Air borne diseases travel faster and affect a massive number of people all throughout the region. Third world countries such as Africa lacks the resources to provide treatment to all the affected victims thereby reducing the average life expectancy. If the government implemented policies to tackle this issue, then there would be an abundance of healthier individuals in those countries. However, this phenomenon also provides us with certain positive aspects. Advancement in technology is also associated with population growth. Since the industrial revolution, human society has shifted from craft production to machines. Humans have advanced in the medical field with regards to life saving technology. Therefore, life expectancy may be increased by providing stable food and medical treatments. For instance, mass production of medicines to combat rapidly spreading viruses can reduce the loss of life and maintain human health. In conclusion, although technological outbreaks have presented positive outlook onto the on-going problem of population growth. The lack of resources to sustain and maintain human life still remains an issue in various parts of the world. If left unchecked, I agree that the rapidly growing human population will be largest problem facing humanity.