A rapidly increasing global population will lead to many social and environmental problems unless something is done to address this impending catastrophe. Suggest ways to help slow down this trend.

School education plays a vital role in the overall development of children. So, what kinds of skills should be imparted to children is always a debatable issue among educationalists. A portion of the society thinks that, pupils should be emphasized to be competitive, whereas, others, believe that working and co-operating with others are beneficial for them. This essay is an attempt to discuss both views and gives its own opinion at the end. On the one hand, in this fast-paced life, everyone needs to outsmart others, to achieve the success. Competing with others, encourages students, to learn from their peers and hence, they push themselves to do more hard work. As a result, students try to enhance their knowledge to become better than anyone else. However, if this competition is not healthy, children may end up with depression and other mental illnesses, as competitions always put pressure on children. For example, a study carried out by the American Education Association, has revealed that, twenty percent of children attempt suicide by feeling more competitive. On the other hand, some people consider the school, as the best learning platform, where children can learn essential skills, such as, working in a team, leading a team and co-operating with others. These skills are useful For them to get a better job in future. Moreover, studying together also improves students' intellectual skill and communication power, using which, they learn how to socialize with others. To conclude, according to me, as children are agile and impulsive by nature, they should be taught to cooperate and to socialize  with others. By improving such skills they can evolve into better citizens.