A private company should not have the right to do business in a city if the majority of the city’s residents object to the private company’s business operations. What is your opinion?

The opinion of local inhabitants in a neighbourhood, specially in a city, should be prioritized in the case of deciding whether a non-government company should be set within their locality. This is because if a great number of people in the city is against the company' s business scheme and proceedings, then there will be general unrest which will lead to uncertainty and dissatisfaction among the city' s residents. In my opinion, the people have a right to protest or boycott the products of the particular business, however if the business is following the rules and regulations and is not doing anything illegal, then they should not be forced out of the city. The people of a city might have different opinions and views about a particular business depending on their values, mission and vision. While a business might open up new job opportunities and small businesses might also be set up as a result, however, the problems caused by the operations of the business will adversely affect the daily life of the citizens. For example, if a company sets up a factory which causes a lot of wastage and pollution and that needs to be carried away daily, it will lead to traffic congestion. Furthermore, the living conditions in the city is likely to become less congruent to the people' s health and lives as a result. In the future, more mental, physical and social problems might arise as a result of the company' s daily activities. On the other hand, if the company follows the rules and regulations and does not carry out any illegal activities, then the government cannot obstruct the company to be set up. This is because organizations have a right to make autonomous decisions disregarding the opinions of the mass. Furthermore, if the company faces protest, then it has to be based on good reasoning and if necessary they will change their decisions. Definitely, the people have a right to boycott and spread rumours about the company, but whether the company has a right to do business in a particular city is not a right that can be taken away by the locals. With the arguments presented above, I personally believe that private company' s like private citizens have a freedom of choice and whether they wish to carry out their business transactions is up to them and outsiders cannot have a right to hinder this, until and unless the company is deteriorating their living conditions.