Some developed countries have spent billions of dollars on space research. Some people consider this to be an irresponsible attitude since millions of people on Earth are suffering from hunger. What is your opinion?

The 20th century witnessed the tremendous efforts carried out by developed countries in order to launch into the space exploration race. Billions of dollars were spent and continue to be spent on this in the present. Millions of people around the globe support space research in the name of knowledge, whereas millions more believe that there are other priorities which must be taken care of first, such as world hunger and poverty. In my opinion, spending exorbitant amounts of money on space research while millions of people around the world are struggling to cover their basic needs represents a moral irresponsibility. In the first place, considering that most of the money governments invest in space research comes from taxpayers' pockets. It is the duty of the government to attend to issues relating to the basic needs of the citizens first and then look for opportunities of development in order to increase the standard of living of the people. Furthermore, even though most people who suffer from hunger are probably not taxpayers, I am certain that if taxpayers were asked to vote in favor of allocating large sums of money for helping citizens in need r for developing space research programmes, most of them would choose the first option. On the other hand, some space research programmes are aimed at solving current world problems such as drinking water scarcity, since they believe that the earth is likely to run out of resources and without looking for minerals and materials outside the globe, the life on earth would soon be uninhabitable. However, many experts believe that the issue of scarcity of resources is more of a political matter than a real natural scarcity issue. Moreover, they argue that most space research programmes are aimed at solving which are not urgent to most populations, such as the existence of extraterrestrial life. Therefore, governments should listen to their most needy and urgent needs, such as eradicating poverty. Even if these governments belong to developed countries because they also need to focus on helping poorer countries. Only through mutual assistance and coordination, the allocation of resources by the government will benefit humanity.