Water is a natural resources that should be free. Government should ban the sale of bottled water.

There is a general believe by some people that government ought to place embargo on sales of water in bottled form since water exists naturally. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this assertion and I believe having drinkable water available to all is a form of business that comes at a cost. To start with, there is a cost implication attached to making consumable water available to all and for this reason, bottled water should be sold. To illustrate further, aqua, though widely available in the universe in form of streams, rivers, oceans, rains amongst others, is most times not good for consumption in its natural form. Purification of this natural resources involves a lot of processes such as, filtration, carbonation and mineralization, which comes at a cost. Hence, it becomes necessary for organizations involved in providing hygienically consumable water to charge people for the service rendered. Furthermore, selling of bottled water is a form of entrepreneurship and means of generating income for some people. For instance, in Nigeria, availability of few jobs and fierce competition in the job market means many unemployed people have to think outside the box and settle for other means of survival. As a result, Sales of bottled water present many with an opportunity to generate income since there is a constant demand for drinkable water. This is a viable business as long as quality of the water supplied and the safety of the people are not being compromised in a bid to make profit. In conclusion, availability of hygienically drinkable water in a bottle is not free and sales of it provides an avenue for people to generate income, government should therefore, not place an embargo on it.