People say it is the responsibility of the residents to keep the environment clean and tidy while others think it is the government's responsibility.

Many people agree that it is the duty of tenants to keep their surroundings neat and habitable, while others believe that caring for the environment is the government’s responsibility. In my opinion, Keeping the environment clean is very crucial. People generally ought always to be involved in the sanitation of their surroundings, irrespective of who’s responsibility it is. To begin with, the environment plays a significant role when health is involved. Tenants who are health conscious should take the initiative to keep their environment clean. Most especially, people who have children that are prone to environmental diseases. Indeed, children are the most affected group in terms of sicknesses caused by lack of proper sanitation of the environment. The more reason why it should be the responsibility of residents to cater to their environment to prevent themselves and their families from detrimental health issues. In South Africa, for instance, residents of the Nelson Mandela estate are now in charge of their environment, keeping it clean and tidy. No little wonder the estate is the most habitable in the country. Similarly, the government has a huge responsibility in terms of keeping the environment clean. Because, people pay a lot of tax to the government, it is expected that the government should be responsible for the environment. Moreover, people cannot be blamed for depending on the government for a clean environment. If people are committed to paying tax, shouldn’t the government be fully committed to the environment? If the government wants to avoid increase in environmental pollution, shouldn’t the duty of cleaning the environment be kept solely in their hands? For example, Lagos, a metropolitan city in Nigeria already has an environmental agency, LAWMA, fully funded by tax which is responsible for keeping the environment neat and tidy. To conclude, sanitation of the environment can not be overemphasized and it is everyone’s responsibility. Each person has a role to play in keeping it habitable. This would go a long way in creating a sustainable dwelling place.