A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

Social status, wealth and material possession have turned into the indicators to judge someone in the society these days while traditions, good quality and honour are no longer valued, though they are the de facto to judge a person. I agree that modern world has a completely different set of criteria for assessing or honouring a member of the society, though they are not the real elements to define a person. Earlier, societies had some specific indicators to judge a man or woman. Among the judging indicators, they preferred qualities like honesty, kindness, trusts, honour etc. But with the change of time, such pointers have vanished. Unluckily the present society prefers social status or riches to judge anyone. A real-life experience may make it simpler. Recently, I closely observed a local election in a distant part of India. Among the two candidates – one of them came from a high profile background while the other one was a shabby man who merely had his own permanent living space in the locality. The majority of the people supported the first individual. They took him granted as a gentleman as he is enriched with material possessions. On the contrary, only a few people supported the poor guy. He was unable to spend bucks for the election but was competing on some moral grounds. He dreamt of changing the society. Unluckily he was defeated by the wealthy candidate. The rich man did not allow his opposition to be an obstacle to his success. This triumph and defeat made me realise that material possessions are the key to judging as important in society. When people have enough riches to spend, they can buy social status and supports. But unfortunately, when someone comes up with humanitarian features, social elites term them as old-fashioned. They are ignored. Therefore, I think such ideas should be changed. We should appreciate the humane features than social status and material possessions. Otherwise, the consequences will be detrimental. When the social status will be the indicator to judge oneself, I believe that would be too humiliating and may lead to massive social disorder.