A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

The world has changed a lot over the years, and the way we value a person’s worth is no exception. Decades ago, people used to consider the morality of the person as the most relevant aspect to determinate their value, but nowadays, the materialism has grown and people decide whether the person is valuable or not depending on what items possess and their socio-economic status. On my opinion, this should not be this way, and society must change the way they see people’s value. I am going to briefly describe this opinion. Everyday society is developing more of a sense of materialism, which is mostly instilled by advertisement and big companies which motivate us to create a huge value of stuff, as if this were a major aspect of our lives. Therefore, we purchase their products massively, reducing the importance of more valuable matters, for instance, people tend to be in their phones the most part of the day, ignoring the physical contact with members of their families or friends. In this respect, people are creating value in the area of media, technology, and popularity, for example, it is a common scenario that many people prefer to be friends of someone who has more followers and Instagram than to someone next to them. This phenomenon has been growing over the years, and people are attributing material possessions and also online possessions (such as followers in a social media, in the former example) to evaluate a person’s value. I believe this situation is sorrowful because we are losing close relations to preferring materialistic matters, leaving aside fundamental features in people, as loyalty, hospitality, kindness and many other qualities we should embrace more than superficial matters, as they provide us relationships with quality and affection, which I think is hugely more relevant for us.