Schools have the social responsibility to discourage children from eating junk food. Others think it is the parent's responsibility.

Over the past half-decade, there has been a rapid increase in the number of children having burgers, fries and other forms of junk food in several countries. While some assert that it is the school’s job to encourage students to eat healthy food, others reckon it is the sole responsibility of the child’s parents to prevent them from eating such food. This essay discusses both view points and will arrive at a conclusion. Eating fast food can be associated with multiple health risks, and teachers and instructors at school should stop their students from consuming junk food. As children spend plenty of time at school, it is a teacher's job to educate their pupils about the health hazards such as obesity, hypertension and other morbidities from eating fat rich food. Recently, the Food and Drug Regulatory Authority in the U. S. has passed a legislation to abort the practice of distributing fast food items in schools all across America. As a result, obesity index of students has plummeted in the U. S. On the contrary, it might be thought that parents should train the diet habits of their children. This can be achieved easily if they provide their wards with only healthy food instead of fast food right from the beginning. For instance, they should add more vegetables and fruits in their meals. If parents adopt such measures for their children, they will not indulge in unhealthy diet consisting of pizza, chips and Coke in the future. In conclusion, even though parents should teach their children the importance of natural, health friendly foods, I believe that it is precisely the job of school management to educate their students to conform their diets to match healthy standards. This will bring long lasting benefits in their lives in terms of their physical and mental fitness.