A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

One should not change their character based on their situations and needs. Some argue that people are getting respected based on their status in society and wealth at present. However, in past, everyone gave more significance to each other’s belief and humanity. I completely believe that in today’s world worthiness of a person is dependent on material wealth rather than innate qualities such as trust and humanity. People who are rich materially and socially are given the first priority in the current day society. This is because in current scenario everything is functioning as result of money. Without money nothing is possible in today’s society. For example, during the COVID times, people with sufficient amount of money managed to handle the situation. On the other hand, laborers who were working in other states were not given any attention. Consequently, they were made to walk thousands of kilometers to their hometown while nobody cared about them because they are not socially and economically stable. So, money is the main factor to save us in this modernized world. Traditionally, people with humanity, trust and love were considered to be worth. People were less attracted towards money in those days. They considered one’s character to be their important possession. To illustrate, everyone used to abide by rules in olden days and as a result corruption was very rare and everyone was self – disciplined. These things made everyone to follow certain principles in their life with good innate character. Due to technological development, slowly the society got changed and finally everything got corrupted. To conclude, whatever the situation may be, one should not lose their quality of life to earn monetary wealth. Worthiness earned by money will last only for few days. Everyone should learn to respect others based on their innate god qualities.