A person worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old fashioned values such as honour, kindness, and trust no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that people are judged these days by how much money they have rather than their morals and character. This essay totally agrees with this statement. This essay will first discuss how people instantly judge others by what clothes they wear or products they own and then suggest that a lack of traditional values in celebrities demonstrates that being is good person is not held in high regard by society. People seem to hold someone in high regard if they have designer clothes, a luxury car or the latest smart phone and rarely look inside that person. This superficial attitude is common in all walks of life, whether it be how a store attendant treats you in a shop or what someone might think of you when interviewing you for a new job. I personally witness this every day; when I wear a business suit people treat me with respect and courtesy, but when I wear shorts and flip-flops at the weekend they are very surprised that I am a decent person. This is also reflected in our celebrities. Most singers, models and actors have neither talent nor moral fibre, but they are still revered because they have a high position in society and seem to have a luxury lifestyle. Miley Cyrus is a prime example; she does not write her own songs and openly confesses to taking drugs and having casual sex, yet she is still adored by people all over the world. In conclusion, being a good person is not as important as wealth, fame and where you are on the social ladder these days and this can easily be seen by how we treat those with no money and how we look up to vacuous stars.