A lot of companies and organisations require employees to wear uniforms. Which kind of jobs are uniforms suitable for? Are there any disadvantages to wearking a uniform to work?

Many of the multinational corporate opt to follow the specific dress code for their employees. People working in factories, experts from the medical field, engineers and technicians are some of the categories who find special clothes ideal as per their work requirements. Despite, mandatory prerequisite of common clothing, there are some pitfalls of it such as identity theft or physical discomfort to employees. Some career pathways, including doctors, nurses, lawyers, electricians and carpenters are some of them where uniforms are compulsory in the day-to-day schedule. There are valid reasons for each of the outfits in their respective stream of work. For instance, in this time of novel COVID19, to save lives and avoid the further spreading of the deadly virus, doctors and nurses need to wear prescribed dress including three layered masks and gloves. Consequently, employees working in jobs, especially for the purpose of health and safety it is suitable to have uniforms. Although, wearing similar clothing brings unity and safety within the organisation, there are some drawbacks to it as well. Itchiness and rashes on the skin are few are some common problems which are faced by the task force. Another incident, where uniform could be dangerous by confusing the identity of an organisation such as army uniform during the war which can be misused by an intruder to get the internal confidential details of the country. Hence, these issues could create bigger hindrance in maintaining the image of the companies. To summarise, adhering the rule of similar dressing within the workplace is one of the unique way of establishing a happy and healthy work environment by the management. Construction labour cannot afford to wear light weight clothes like a surgeon who is performing surgery in the operation theatre. Similarly, wearing strong and heavy boots eight hours a day may result in fungal infection in some.