A large amount of advertisements nowadays are targeted at children. Many people say these have negative effects on children and should therefore be banned.

The debate on the impact of advertisements on children has been contentious lately. Some people are of the opinion that advertisements have a negative impact on children while others do not think likewise. I completely agree that advertisements should not be shown to children because of the negative influence that it will have on them. The most compelling reason for my view is that I believe that advertisements are just a form of marketing gimmicks, targeted at specific audiences to convince them into buying unnecessary items. In this case, when children are exposed to advertisements relating to toys, chances are that they will be pestering their parents to splurge on redundant objects. The money spent on these items could have been spent on more practical items. The next reason to support my opinion is that nowadays advertising companies invested a humongous amount of money into advertising food. Take Macdonalds as an example, it is a fast-food restaurant that serves unhealthy foods. However, in recent years, the advertisements have been improvised to create an illusion of healthy burgers selling in Macdonalds. Many children who were influenced by the false advertising, has chosen to take burger and fries on a regular basis. As a result, they all struggled to deal with obesity at a tender age. The last reason to support my viewpoint is that, in a recent survey conducted on parents with young children, they shared that their children are often buying items as a form of competition among their peers due to the influence of advertisements. Personally, I feel that it is indirectly promoting a materialistic lifestyle among children as they spend unnecessarily to compete with one another. To conclude, I strongly believe that it is imperative to ban all advertisements as it has proven to have a negative impact on children.