793 describe an interesting hobbyyou should saywhat it iswhat kind of people do ithow it is doneand explain why you think it is interesting

The process of learning a language is a long and arduous one, and the question of why people might inflict such torment on themselves is worth discussing. While some feel this pursuit is solely a practical one, allowing us to travel or live abroad, others see it as something more. From my perspective, the fluency in non-native language is beneficial in various ways. To start with, there are those who see foreign language as a functional thing needed only for communication with the locals. The skill of speaking a foreign language often determines their professional success or enjoyable holidays in a country far away from home. Foreigners’ reaction is usually much more pleasant if the speaker knows their native language and can clearly express his thoughts. For example, they can consider this person as a part of local communities and welcome to visit their houses. However, others see far more benefits in knowing non-native language. Embarking on the journey of language learning, they take it upon themselves to live and breathe it. These people immerse themselves in the culture. For instance, whether from home or while abroad, they listen to music, access websites and even read books in the target language. For them the journey is as important as the goal. I believe that there are plenty of other reasons for learning a second language besides for travelling and working abroad. Foreign language makes us broad-minded and give an access to a larger amount of information. Even the most accurate translation might change the original meaning and lead to a deviation. Furthermore, skill in a foreign language is helpful for better cognitive development as it stimulates the emergence of new neuron connections. For instance, without knowing English I would never be able to read literature in original version and would have less developed critical thinking. In conclusion, although for some learning a language will forever be connected to the aim of visiting or working in another country, for others it has clear benefits right here at home. I certainly belong to the latter group, as what I have gained from the experience of learning English goes far beyond simple tourism or employment.