28. 09. 2017 It is generally accepted that families are not as close as they used to be. Give some reasons why this change has happened and suggest how families could be brought closer together. Include any relevant examples from your experience.

Nowadays family ties have become weaker than in the past. Below some reasons of the trend and ways to revolt it will be discussed in details. To begin with, the alteration of the role played by a family in a life of a contemporary citizen is caused by several reasons. Firstly, industrialization that happened in the XIX century separated families in the rapidly evolving world. In the past families usually live in the same villages or towns for generations, often in a house that was shared with an extended family but the technological revolution encouraged young adults to seek a better life in cities and to move closer to industrial centers. Secondly, working on plants and mills allowed individuals to make enough money to live independently from their relatives. To illustrate, historically people were badly dependent on products and goods that were produced by the family but having a steady income gave individuals an indispensable opportunity to buy all needed items, food and the role of a family decreased. In other words, industrialization weakened connections among family members. However, some actions may be implemented to address the worrisome situation. Primarily, promotion of family role at school may bring a desirable result. In fact, there are formative years when child’s personality is being formed and information that is absorbed in that period shapes kid’s worldview. So, if a crucial role of a family were propagated at school, the attitude of offspring to a family would be steered in the right direction. Furthermore, modern technology provides folks with a possibility to stay in touch with mothers, fathers, grandparents and siblings without traveling. Usage of Skype, Twitter, Instagram and Facebook to converse with relatives could bring members of a family closer to one another. Thus, advocating the importance of family at the school system and using the internet might reverse the trend. To sum up, cooling of relationships among relatives is caused by technological advancement but it appears the trend may be remodeled if pupils learn the significance of family in a large scale at the right time.