23092017 When a country develops its technology, the traditional skills and ways of life die out. It is pointless to try and keep them alive. with this opinion?

Many claim that technological progress of a state leads to extinction of local customs and traditional lifestyle, and attempting to preserve those traditions and ways of life is meaningless. I disagree with this prospect and below the reasons on which my stance is based will be discussed in details. On the one hand, there is a correlation between the advancement of technology and dying out local crafts and mores. For instance, the invention and mass production of the automobile forced people to give up exploiting horses and asses as means of transportation, consequently, traditions and crafts that are associated with those animals disappeared as well. Another instance is the advent of the Internet that reshaped traditions and cultures in many countries. In fact, the net has dramatically impacted the way humans work, communicate, relax and study. For instance, a tradition of writing letters on paper has almost become obsolete in Russia because e-mails replaced them. Thus, substitution of old customs by new ones is indeed caused by progress. On the other hand, it is plausible and useful to keep ancestors’ ways and skills alive. In fact, cultural heritage has crucial importance for keeping a connection between generations in order to maintain a healthy and prosperous society that has a national identity. For instance, Japan has a nationwide social program that cultivates public’s interest in their roots and customs. The fulfillment of the program has allowed Japanese to maintain their national identity in a quickly globalizing world and to have people who are willing to work for the good of the country. Furthermore, maintaining local customs may serve as a big attraction for tourists and their money. For instance, folk of Hawaii managed to use their unusual traditions and forefathers’ way of life to make their country recognizable among others and to promote their island as a tropic heaven that is ideal for recreational activities. Commuters who visit the coastal state joyfully observe and participate in local rituals and ceremonies. Consequently, those are two ways in which preserving traditional skills and mores may be useful. In my opinion, although technological advancement has a converse impact on spreading ancestors’ crafts, arts, and customs, they should and could be preserved for future generations.