25/09/2017 Improvements in health, education and trade are essential for the development of poorer nations. However, the governments of richer nations should take more responsibility for helping the poorer nations in such areas.

Many aver that wealthy countries ought to help those states that are less well-off with organizing trade, health care and system of education. I disagree with this prospect and reasons on which my stance is based will be discussed in details below. On the one hand, wealthy states ought to help developing states to advance essential social institutions because of several reasons. Firstly, for many generations western countries have been accumulating a considerable volume of valuable expertise in economics, law enforcement, medical care and education and those nations are morally obliged to pass this knowledge down to those who need it. Secondly, taking more responsibilities and helping poor states to develop will bring prosperity and stability to those problematic regions; consequently, this will stop the undesirable flow of refugees and immigrants to the well-off states. In other words, giving a helping hand to poorer nations has some conspicuous benefits. On the other hand, there are some reservations about blindly taking responsibility for the states with a weak economy. Primarily, investment of a considerable amount of money will likely put the receiving side in adverse, even dependent position. In fact, oftentimes financial or humanitarian aid is used as a leverage to steer political decisions in the favor of the giving side. Furthermore, even giving resources without asking for favors in return may have an adverse influence on trade, education, and health in a long run because poorer states may not be able to maintain well-functioning of those institutions without foreign help. To illustrate, as a child that has had since the early days helpers that dress him will not be able to dress himself in an adult life without caregivers. In the same vein, developing countries that rely heavily on the west’s aid and advice could not design needed structures or be able to develop them on their own. Those are plausible disadvantages of helping poorer states. In my opinion, providing poor states with resources, helping with the expertise to establish efficient health trade and education system should be done extremely carefully due to the developing states must stay independent and resourceful.