28/10/2017People should work a fixed number of hours per week, and employers should not ask anybody to work more than this. Give your own opinion.

Nowadays a growing number of people aver employees ought to work only a certain number of hours and bosses should not be allowed to ask them to work additional time. Although this policy possesses some beneficial characteristics, I personally disagree with it. Author’s opinion and reasons on which it is based will be discussed in details below. Firstly, working a limited number of hours has a positive impact on workers’ overall health and well-being because they are able to plan their day and allocate some time to participating in such sports activities as swimming, running or playing football. Moreover, some leisure time could be devoted to interacting with family members, friends and colleagues. Thus, having a better balance between work and life is one fruit of the policy. Secondly, the implementation of the discussed idea would be fruitful for employers as well. Many psychological studies decisively demonstrated well-rested personnel has more enthusiastic, joyful attitude to work assignments. Consequently their productivity in average on twenty-six percent higher than the one of those who toil unpredictable and frequently long hours. This is another valuable benefit of the trend. However, a blind fulfillment of the policy is rather unreasonably because sometimes firm’s management has to ask or even force their subordinates to work more, for instance, due to unexpected circumstances. To illustrate, an important project that is pivotal for company’s future might not be finished in time because a member of the team was severely injured in an automobile collision. Under those conditions, a head of the group could ask the staff to labor more because if a contract is violated, the business will go through financial hardships and downsizing. So, many folks who are employed by the firm will lose their job positions. In other words, in exceptional situations breaching the proposed policy appears to be a necessary evil. In my opinion, the idea of limiting the volume of time spent at a workplace is an attractive one but it should be used wisely and reasonably because rare exceptions from the rule are possible.