237. What is the biggest academic mistake you have ever made? Describe the mistake and what you learned from it? Use specific details and examples in your response.

In recent years, the approach of using exams to access students has risen in popularity over the alternative of the continual assessment. This essay will highlight some of the benefits and the drawbacks that have resulted from such an approach. To begin with the positives, a crucial advantage of examinations as a form of assessment is that they leave little room for cheating. This is because exams are usually undertaken in the presence of an invigilator whose job is to detect any student breaking the rules. In contrast, continual assessment increases the risk of plagiarism as these assessments are often completed with the help of the internet. Besides reducing cheating, exams are time-efficient as they tend to only appear once or twice per year. As a result, they might free-up time for students to prepare and revise their syllabus. Nevertheless, exams as a form of assessments do present some drawbacks. For instance, even if the students are very intelligent and creative, but when they put under high pressure, their minds may go blank. Considering this intense pressure, the brightest of students perform poorly in the examinations. Another disadvantage is the narrow range of information which students test on. Unlike continual assessment, there is a small time window which limits the number of questions being asked, and thus this cannot test students' knowledge in full. In conclusion, despite the benefits that exams have in terms of cutting-cheating and time-efficiency, there are some of the negatives where examinations put students under high pressure and arguably not as thorough as the continual assessments.