69. Talk about an embarrassing situation that happened to you recently. Describe the experience and explain why it was so embarrassing.

Recently, purchasing used clothes has become a popular trend, especially among young people. The main reason for this is that today's youth is often short of money and, I believe that it is a positive trend as it recycles old clothes, which is beneficial for the environment. To begin with, most of the youngsters these days do not have sufficient money to buy a variety of clothes. The reason for this is unemployment, as many young ones do not have a lucrative job to fulfil their desires. Moreover, branded clothes mostly have a high price range, which is generally not affordable for the young generation; thus they prefer to buy the second-hand outfits having cheap rates. To exemplify, owing to the popularity of used clothes among the youngsters, the number of second-hand outfit stores has doubled in the year 2019 in Delhi. Thus, this trend provides the opportunity for the youngsters to try multiple varieties of attires in low budget. Choosing second-hand clothes is a form of recycling and, in my perspective, it has a positive impact on the environment. This is because, the production of garments and fabrics involves a usage of chemicals, water and electricity in large quantities, which gradually leads to the over-consumption of natural resources and thus affecting the environment. To illustrate, according to a survey by the ‘Time’, 60% of the chemicals and electricity consumption is done by the garment manufacturing industries. Therefore, with the usage of second-hand clothes, the production of new ones can be minimised to some extent, helping to reduce negative environmental impacts. In conclusion, more young people are choosing to buy second-hand clothes due to shortage of money, and this has a positive impact on the environment by reducing the need to produce and reusing of the old ones.