18/10/2017 A recent study showed that both developing and developed countries prosper because of the economic growth. People from developing countries are happier than before while people from developed countries are not as happy as they were in the past.

The economy is steadily growing in many countries across the globe; however, citizens of wealthy states appear to be happier today than in the past while inhabitants of the third-world countries claim they are less satisfied with their lives nowadays than before. Below some possible reasons for this trend will be discussed and plausible solutions will be given. Primarily, economic growth brings different fruits to the developed and developing states. To illustrate, for those who dwell in such countries as the United Kingdom, Germany, France, the United States of America, the growth means already high standards of living, social services and benefits will keep increasing consistently. At the same time, folks that live in poor countries will likely remain poor because finances generated by the growing economy are spread unevenly. In the worst case scenario, the money may be accumulated in hands of a small group of powerful individuals and an average individual will not feel any positive alteration at all. Consequently, people’s perception of happiness differs from state to state. However, the trend in discussion may be alleviated. Firstly, unwealthy governments must invest heavily in the mass media that can become an efficient tool of propaganda. Telling people repeatedly about the achieved success and demonstrating happy examples of lucky people who manage to make a fortune will likely create an optimistic attitude to life among dwellers. So, this hope and enthusiasm will have an advantageous impact on their happiness. Secondly, business people and politicians of well-off states could invest finances in economies of developing ones. Financing construction of roads, subways and medical institutions would skyrocket the quality of living of all citizens of the poor states. Thus, their happiness would probably rocket. Those are several possible actions to be taken to tackle to issue. In my opinion, economic growth does not always mean prosperity for all citizens, but the problematic situation may be improved tremendously if developing states work with public’s opinions and rich ones invest resources in third-world economies in a meaningful way.