11/10/2017Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. Why could this be? Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

Moves produced abroad are often more popular than locally made ones. Below some possible reasons for the trend will be discussed, and whether a government ought to buttress local film industries or not will be considered in details. To begin with, foreign films are popular due to several reasons. Firstly, Hollywood and European movies usually have better quality of picture, more interesting plot, spectacular special effects and star famous actors and actresses. Those features incentivize public to spend their money and time on watching the overseas product. Secondly, a novel and peculiar culture oftentimes is being presented in films shot abroad. In fact, each movie represents new prospect on the reality and the values of the country in which it was produced. Viewers who seek emotions and novel, mind-breaking outlook on life are drawn to the unusual movies created in distant countries. Those are two secrets of the success of foreign films. Furthermore, the overwhelming popularity of overseas cinema, in particular, American one makes sponsoring local movie industries by government structures a worthwhile endeavor. Primarily, this step may stimulate the production of films that will promote national interests, values, traditions and a feeling of patriotism. This investment will likely have an advantageous impact on local culture that is threatened by the spreading Hollywood influence. In addition, allocating money to national companies has a benevolent effect on the quality of movies produced and motivates country’s businesses to pay more attention to the lucrative theme. Thus, the industry will be well-financed, strengthened, revitalized and local movies will become more competitive in domestic and international territories due to their overall higher quality. In other words, government support is fruitful in many ways. In conclusion, foreign films are extremely popular due to their quality and novelty, supporting the country’s film industry may make the movies produced locally more competitive.