13. 09. 2017 Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Being able to talk on two languages has been becoming a necessity in a contemporary world. Many educators aver that starting learning a new tongue at the beginning of school education is, perhaps, the best way to do it. Below merits and drawbacks of this prospect will discussed in details and author’s opinion will be stated. On the one hand, probably the strongest argument in support of the proposed idea is that there are formative years from an early childhood till adolescence when kids’ brains and minds are being formed. If offspring starts learning the second language at primary school, the process of studying will be more smooth and painless, moreover, it is likely that the pupils will be equally fluent in both tongues. Another advantage that ought to be mentioned is that elementary school curriculum consists of relatively a few subjects; thus, more time, may be devoted to acquiring a new language without overloading the pupils with studying. In other words, the primary school students have favorable circumstances for starting to learn a novel tongue. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages. Many parents worry that their beloved offspring will have no childhood if the proposal is implemented. In fact, learning of a new tongue could require a lot of time and thus, children might be forced to spend their early years reading textbooks and looking in a computer screen. Moreover, a human being is a social animal that learns how to interact with others during formative years by playing, chatting and having fun with others. If there is no time left on those activities because of studying, a kid might not develop the skills that are so essential for a successful living in society. In my opinion, advantages of beginning to study a foreign tongue at primary school clearly outweigh disadvantages that may be avoided if the policy is fulfilled wisely.