Some people think paintings and drawings are as important as other subjects, and they should be compulsory in high school education.

Whether to include art classes, such as drawing and painting, in the mandatory subjects list for school syllabus has always been a major debates among academics. It certainly a great medium of expression and endurance of creativity so it is equally significant as other subjects, such as science and math. However, I do not feel that they should be made obligatory in school course. To begin with, there is no argument against the wide applications of leaning art and painting. Not every feeling can be expressed through conventional language whereas art provides a platform to display deepest emotions. Further, it surely plays key role in improving imagination, observation and reasoning, which are very significant skills that can serve well in the long run. For example, people with artistic skills proven to be more efficient in providing innovative solution to the existing problems. Thus, not only students will be benefited by learning art but instead everybody should be encouraged to pursue it. Although it is helpful, it is unnecessary to make art subjects compulsory for all pupils. To begin with, it takes up a lot of time from their busy timetable, which can be utilized to teach more important subject, such as science and language. In addition, university competitive entrance exam does not ask question based on art so wasting time on such subjects by making it mandatory is completely unjustifiable. The effective approach would be to make it as optional so that only interested students can participate on their own time as hobby. Thus, students should be motivated to learn paintings but not as compulsory syllabus. In conclusion, although paining is beneficial for overall development of student’s personality, it is better to keep it as an extracurricular activity like music and sports.