13. Some people like to hurry and get things done as quickly as possible. Others prefer to take their time and get things done at a slower pace. Which do you prefer?

In recent years, having a year off before going to university has risen in popularity. This essay will highlight both the benefit and drawbacks that result from this approach. To begin with the positive, one of the crucial advantages of taking a break for a year is people can do some jobs. This experience will help people to decide what competencies they need in the university to enlighten their future. For instance, one of the key success factors in office politics is public speaking skills, so they can focus on developing this competency in the class. Besides getting a short-term job, a year off can be optimized to travel around the world. This activity is useful for stress released after studying for about 12 years continually. In contrast, the drawback of this period is the risk of decreasing academic skills. In some cases, the chosen faculty at that time has relevant basic knowledge from the previous education level. So, if people have a year off, it will potentially reduce their memory about the needed knowledge. The next negative side of this approach is to create a possibility for a lazy student to continue their study at university. The fact is that learning in a formal situation like in the class is not joyful for everyone. Consequently, giving the chance to take an extended break will destroy their learning spirit in the same condition in the university. To sum up, taking a year off after finishing school has both advantages and disadvantages. In my opinion, it depends on the plan and the characteristic of every person. They can choose this occasion as long as they can mitigate the potential risk of the negative side.