13-1. Describe a place that you like best in your city. Please state why you like itwith specific examples and details.

It is a fact that, making the right decision at the right time is very important for the growth of a company. Many people believe decision making in a company should be centralized, while others argue that, companies should have a more collective approach to decision making. I believe, although it is very important to hear out the employees while making a critical decision, the final say should come from the upper management and in this essay, I will put forth my views with suitable examples. Firstly, those who believe companies should involve employees while making important decisions think that, such process will enable better decision making compared to when a bunch of executives sitting around a round table to make decisions. For example, in a start-up environment, were sometimes the upper management itself is relatively inexperienced; it is better to go for a collective approach to decision making involving the employees. However, the main problem I see in such approach is that, time taken to reach a consensus on a problem or an issue is very high and this sometimes will have an adverse effect on the growth of the company, especially in today's competitive market. On the other side, having a centralized decision making system means that companies can become more agile and adapt to changing market dynamics much faster. For instance, one of the main problems faced by many automotive OEM's is that, they are not able to bring our their cars into the market on time. When a survey was conducted among the executives it was found that, the main reason for this is slow decision making. Moreover, all the employees in a company will not have or know the broader context or the consequence of a decision and this sometimes will lead myopic decision making which will not help companies in the long run. To conclude, although it is important for companies to listen to their employees and take their opinion into account while making a decision, I believe the final go ahead should come from the managers