1 People think that old buildings should be knocked down and give way to modern buildings.

Some people believe that historical buildings must be demolished to make room for more modern structures, while others are against this notion. In my opinion, heritage buildings that contribute to the aesthetic, cultural, and functionality of the society must be preserved while buildings that do not fulfil these criteria can be knocked down. To begin with, buildings with cultural value are important because of their characteristic value that contributes to the city image. For instance, the Empire state building in New York is nearly a century old, but the design and the height of the erection draws many tourists to the building. This inflow of the visitors generates revenue for the city and the structure has become a symbolic figure for the city. Thus, there are some historical buildings that have a bigger role in society which is why they should be protected. On the other hand, some buildings must be knocked down because of costly maintenance. There are many buildings that are extremely old and built with low-quality materials, hence, it is a waste of resources to care for such places. For example, many ancient castles in Europe are falling apart because of the expensive preservation cost that owners cannot afford. In such cases, it is reasonable to destroy an ancient figure for a more modern sustainable building. In conclusion, I believe many historical buildings play an important role in society due to their past and cultural significance. However, some architecture is too old, that alternative is to replace them with a newer development.