News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

Television commercials and newsletters have become the first preference of many for advertisements. Many hold the view that images used in conveying an information has comparatively more impact than the ones without. I completely agree with the statement and in my essay, I will support my views by giving substantial reasons and examples. To begin with, image is the king of the promotional copy. Bright and colourful creatives used for advertising captivates attention of the public leading to escalation in the user engagement. To illustrate, it has been claimed by advertisers, ad copy is what makes or breaks the deal. Consequently, the reader would spend time going through the article shared if he/she likes the image being used and finds it intriguing. Thus, the choice of the figures used plays an essential role. Secondly, a picture speaks for a thousand words. The idea of the content is perceived by what a person sees and may continue reading the article if it is of his interest. For example, if a reader sees a news depicting a building in flames, would get to know that the message writer wants to deliver is related to a fire breakout at someplace and continue to read further if it is meaningful to him. Therefore, correct depiction is necessary to retain audience. In my opinion, effectiveness of the news stories definitely surges with the appropriate usage of image as it not only increases the views but also gives an insight about the column. This practice has been appreciated and has also increased the number of readers.