1. B. Nowadays, people are spending increasingly large amounts of money on their marriage parties. Many people feel large and expensive weddings cause problems for the bride and groom. Do you agree? Use personal examples in your response.

These days, many people spend extraordinary funds on their wedding ceremonies. However, some people believe that it is not a good trend to follow. I completely agree with this school of thought, as these lavish parties create numerous problems for the families involved. Firstly, it is needless to say that marriage ceremonies have become a status symbol, and many people pour huge sums of money to maintain their social status. Consequently, they are not only exhausting their life savings, but also borrow funds from financial institutions on high markup rates. In a recent article published by Ms. Farhat Hashmi, a social activist, it was stated that 6 out of 10 loans sanctioned from commercial banks were used for matrimonial purposes. Secondly, an ever-increasing number of unmarried individuals are alarming for the society. In other words, youngsters who have attained the age of marriage are not getting married because of their feeble financial background. For example, in many Asian countries, dowry is considered as one of the principal reasons for girls not getting married. In conclusion, although marriage is an important occasion and can be remembered for a lifetime. Nonetheless, we need to understand the importance of money, and I believe that it should not be spent frivolously. It is predicted, however, that in the future, the Government will impose more restrictions to avoid dowry-related practices.