1. B. Nowadays, people are spending increasingly large amounts of money on their marriage parties. Many people feel large and expensive weddings cause problems for the bride and groom. Do you agree? Use personal examples in your response.

Marrying couples often aspire to throw lavish wedding receptions with which to celebrate [For Celebrating] their union. However, often these parties carry with them a burden that newlyweds cannot comfortably bear. It is agreed that excessive spending on marriage celebrations can cause issues for new husbands and wives. This will be shown by analyzing how excessive matrimonial ceremonies can encumber newlyweds financially and cause unhealthy competition to show off social and financial status. Firstly, many marrying couples often put themselves into troubles when they spend beyond their capacity on their marriage reception. For example, some friends of mine borrowed an exorbitant amount of money to pay for a very large wedding they held several years ago. Spending in such a prodigal way, force these young couples to dedicate every last cent of their earnings after marriage to pay off their debt. As this money could have been put towards building a better life for them, it is clear that problems can arise for people who spend extreme amounts on their weddings. In addition, lavish marriage ceremonies also give rise to the unhealthy competition of showing off social and financial status in society. For instance, in India, there are some marriage ceremonies where popular media celebrities are paid a huge amount to participate just to show off their extravagance, which in turn influence other wealthy members of the society to do the same to maintain their status. Even newly-wed couples reveal their competitive nature by making their ceremony more eye-catchy and lavish than that of other couples. Consequently, prospective couples feel pressure to maintain this unavoidable competitive trend in society. In conclusion, it has been proven that large and expensive wedding parties can incite issues for marrying couples. Although many marriage arrangements are culturally sensitive, it is expected that modern couples weigh the pros and cons of throwing a lavish ceremony before deciding to do so.